Don Corleone said “I spent my whole life trying not to be careless.”  The Godfather could afford to not worry about his lack of morality.  The world he created was corrupt and his friends adapted the same philosophy.

We live, however, in the real world not in a movie, and the truth is that morality does matter to all of us save the criminal element.  The laws of the land and our support of those laws speak volumes about where we stand on morality.  The truth is that we embrace the law when a murder, rape or robbery is committed because humanity knows right from wrong and believes in punishment for failure to follow the law.

The same has applied to morality for centuries.  Unfortunately another school of thought keeps popping its head up.  That is the flawed thinking that immoral acts are ‘not that bad’ and we should understand ‘human frailty’ and accept these mistakes as ‘poor decision making’ that doesn’t affect performance on the job.  Unfortunately, that isn’t the case.

Lying, stealing and cheating are not attributes a potential employer embraces in a new applicant.  Yet, I am amazed daily as I hear politicians or their representatives claim that what they do in private has no relevance to the job they perform.  Denial is not just a river in Egypt. 

Should voters embrace this mentality?  Would you hire a nanny for your children that slept with her previous employer?  Would you hire a contractor who overcharged your friend?  Would you turn your beloved pet over to someone abused his wife?  I’m fairly confident the answer is no in all cases. 

Don’t be confused with the difference between forgiveness and responsibility.  Forgiveness is a choice we hopefully make towards others and our self when we commit an immoral act.  Responsibility is when we are willing to accept the consequences of our actions.  Breaking down the moral fabric of our society is a common theme that we must reject.  

If politicians, their political consultants and representatives really believe corrupt morals do not matter let them try creating a political mail piece with the following language:

“I cheated on my spouse.  I worked behind the scenes to help a fellow candidate get elected for cash under the table.  I have lied to my constituents in order to save my image to the voters.  I believe that all the money I have taken, the adultery I committed and the lies I have told have no relevance on how I represent the voters once elected.  Trust me and re-elect me in the upcoming election.”

Now try to convince me that bad morals do not matter to the voters. 

Until next time,

Red Stick Republican

